top of page

Blog: An attempt to be silence.

Updated: Oct 30, 2022

🌺 When a good day get sidelined on Facebook. ☕️


The toxicity on our social media platforms is often difficult to digest. Especially when grown adults are being disrespectful to other grown folks, usually the ones they don't know on a personal and professional level. I saw a post this morning that was viewed as an insult by a cowardice Facebook troll. His message was that people like me don't have the right to say "I love you all, brothers and sisters, in an expression of goodwill to send off military servicemen and combatants, because I haven't served in the military and thus am ignorant. Rather, I should do more research on the history.

Whoa. Whoa. What?! Many people have echoed and shared this sentiment with me over the years. It’s simply a sentiment expressed, not a criticism, so please learn, or research the difference, buddy. I don't need to join the military to express a sentiment, since it comes from a place of love, which is the polar opposite of killing. It was difficult enough to decipher the writing’s text due to its poor grammar and typographical errors. Not to mention, the timing is terrible when everyone is trying to galvanize moral support for those soldiers on standby, including my cousin Matthew just off the coast, who are laying down their lives at a greater cost.

Furthermore, at least one or two members of my family have served in the military per generation. I had a different upbringing and opted to serve differently as a technically skilled professional. Declaring that l should get up and fight a war while ignoring the essential moral fabric of our society—the responsibilities of caring for loved ones, friends, families, the elderly, and young people left to fend for themselves—is a recipe for disaster. I shouldn’t have to quit contributing to a thriving economy that we skilled workers helped to create, and instead focus entirely on surviving in a primitive mind-set of a cynical babbling clown!


Like my mother used to say, "A leai sou tala faufautua lelei, Aua e te tautala. Ae e tautala I luga atu tapuaina lelei o sesi foi tagata. Ia tatalo I le Atua e faamama atu lou loto palapalaa.


Soifua!


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page